Bicycle Commuter Profile: Peter Brackenbury

Name: Peter Brackenbury
Location: Warkworth Ontario, Canada
Started bike commuting: 1994-95, Montreal, 1997-2001 Ottawa, Warkworth 2003-present
Commute distance (one way): 5.5 miles

Describe your commute: I live in an area that is known for its Drumlins which are egg shaped hills that are glacial deposits from the last ice age. The hills, though not long are quite steep and you are either climbing one or descending one. My ride to work is more descending than climbing, my ride home is the opposite. It is a rural commute between my home and town. About 2-3 km on dirt road and the rest is paved. I pinch myself most mornings that I am lucky enough to live so close to work and enjoy beautiful sunrises. I tried, but backed down from winter commuting this year. It is risky when the snowfalls and the speeds on country roads are frightening, especially when drivers don’t expect to see a bike. I aim to ride at least 3 days per week in the spring, summer and fall.

Describe your bike and accessories: 1986 Nishiki Continental, purchased on PinkBike from Calgary Alberta. In the sloppier weather (edge of winter and spring!) I ride a re-painted Raleigh Mountain Bike from the 80′s. I have serratus panniers from Mountain Equipment Co-op. The bikes both have leather saddles, one Brooks, One VO, and Friction shifters and Fenders of course.

What bit of advice would you like to share with new bike commuters?: I think, as some have mentioned above, that you do what you can and ride as often as possible without risking mental anguish, wringing of hands, and your own life. Its Ok to miss some days as long as you try your best to get out there as often as you can. It’s always nice to have good positive experiences and memories to draw upon, not miserable ones, it’s those memories that get me onto the bike some mornings. But don’t make it an all or nothing game.

[To add your profile to the collection, please visit our Bicycle Commuter Profiles page. —ed.]

 
© 2011 EcoVelo™